for the love of the bureau of motor vehicles.

The running joke is state agencies are long on bureaucracy and red tape, and short on customer service and efficiency. I can’t speak to all state offices, but my most recent experience (today) at a license branch of the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles was all positive.

I needed a new license reflecting my current address. I visited the Nora branch in Indianapolis and was in and out in less than 25 minutes. I only waited in line for about five minutes before first contact with a branch employee. Sure, I think some of the paperwork is extraneous and time consuming, but it isn’t the clerk’s fault. She was pleasant, friendly and attentive to any special requests (additional copies of information).

License branches are often havens for horror stories, but I have been to this particular branch enough to say it hasn’t been my experience. Compared to 10 and 15 years ago, the wait times have been reduced significantly and employees are friendly, helpful and efficient. In short, they’re taking a page from businesses and treating people like valued customers. I appreciate that. It’s also worth noting the BMV’s online functions have kept me out of a license branch for years now. There’s nothing as liberating as renewing your license plates at 2 a.m. from the comfort of your own home.

Now if only they could do something about prettying up my photo…

Leave a comment

Filed under opinion, Personal

Leave a Reply

