great american holiday.

Fourth of July brings up most of my favorite childhood memories growing up in Bay City. The all-day cookouts at my Uncle Cecil & Aunt Nora’s house with my mother’s side of the family. The grown-ups drank a lot of beer. I drank a lot of soda. We threw lawn darts, played tennis at a nearby school, ran around with sparklers, ate cookout food. And later that night, my parents would take my brother and me to see the fireworks.

The older I got, the more I understood what we celebrate and why we celebrate every July 4th. But just now, I like to reflect on my childhood back in the 70s and early 80s at Uncle Cecil & Aunt Nora’s.

It truly is a great American holiday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

