the power of social media: how twitter has helped me raise awareness of a very serious customer service issue.

I have yet to determine the power and/or effectiveness of social media. But then again, I don’t really know how to determine the power of a 9-volt battery unless I put my tongue on it. In my experience with Facebook, blogs and Twitter, I have seen it work for me and against me.

I’m reminded this week that if you want to get attention quickly, Twitter is your tool. Some of you know my ongoing saga with Hertz Rent-a-Car. As it stands, I finally got the attention of someone in their corporate office without really trying. How? Simple. I screamed into the abyss (Twitter).

My frustration with the company led me to warn others of my plight using the only arrow left in my quiver: social media. Better than any 800 number or online CSR form, Twitter got me noticed. I, like so many others out there, turn to Twitter, Facebook and blogs to mobilize word-of-mouth. I did it not to be slanderous (which I wasn’t), but rather to inform and raise awareness of an unfair, dishonest practice at my expense.

It got the attention of many in my social network as well as a few outside of it, namely, Hertz.

“We understand and we are looking into this. We saw your blog, wish you’ve given me time to work on it first b4 posting,” said a Hertz official via the @Hertz Twitter account. That blog entry was posted in April. Now is your chance to work on it.

They pledged to “make it right.” That’s a start. But I’ll believe it when I see it.

Stay tuned.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal, public relations

Leave a Reply

