for your consideration: my oscar predictions.

Having seen enough of the field in this year’s Academy Awards major categories, I think I’m able to sufficiently weigh in on who I think will win and whom I want to win. In some cases they are, indeed, two different answers.

Best Original Score
This is a category I appreciate more and more every year.

…and the Oscar goes to: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, The Social Network.
If I had a vote, I’d vote for… Hans Zimmer, Inception.
I love this guy’s work and think his score added the most to any of the nominated movies.

Best Editing
It’s been brought to my attention that this category is a good harbinger for which movie will win Best Picture. Makes sense to me.

…and the Oscar goes to: Kirk Baxter and Angus Wall, The Social Network.
If I had a vote, I’d vote for… The Social Network. In no other nominated film (with the exception of 127 Hours, which I did not see dammit!) was editing as crucial to the telling of the story as in The Social Network.

Best Adapted Screenplay
Interesting field. Curious…from what was Toy Story 3 adapted?

…and the Oscar goes to: Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network.
If I had a vote, I’d vote for… Sorkin. His writing is so crisp it’s a joy to hear his words come to life in this movie.

Best Original Screenplay
A great category!

…and the Oscar goes to: David Seidler, The King’s Speech.
If I had a vote, I’d vote for… Chris Nolan, Inception. No other nominated script was as inventive, layered and twisted as this one. I loved the narrative of The Fighter, the simplicity of The Kids Are All Right and the dialogue between King George and Loge in The King’s Speech, but Inception ran away with it for me.

Best Cinematography
My favorite category. If I could do it all over again, I’d be a cinematographer.

…and the Oscar goes to: Danny Cohen, The King’s Speech. (I just have a feeling they’re going to give it to this one.)
If I had a vote, I’d vote for… Wally Pfister, Inception. For my money, no movie relied on and got more out of the cinematography than Inception.

Best Supporting Actress
REALLY tough field this year.

…and the Oscar goes to: Melissa Leo, The Fighter. (Although Helena Bonham Carter could sneak into a win here, I think it’s Leo who gets the Oscar.)
If I had a vote, I’d vote for… Hailee Steinfeld, True Grit. I loved Melissa Leo in The Fighter, but Hailee Steinfeld was fantastic in True Grit. It was a bigtime role and she nailed it.

Best Supporting Actor
It’s one or two against the rest here.

…and the Oscar goes to: Christian Bale, The Fighter.
If I had a vote, I’d vote for… Christian Bale. I loved Geoffrey Rush in The King’s Speech, but Bale was just too good in The Fighter.

Best Actress
Even worse here, one vs. four and it’s not even a fair fight.

…and the Oscar goes to: Natalie Portman, Black Swan.
If I had a vote, I’d vote for… Portman. To be fair, no other nominee has as weighty a role. I thought Annette Bening was great, but Portman blew the roof off the joint.

Best Actor
Quite a stacked field with an eclectic bunch of Hollywood vets and a couple fresh faces.

…and the Oscar goes to: Colin Firth, The King’s Speech.
If I had a vote, I’d vote for… Colin Firth. I loved Bridges and Eisenberg, but I felt Firth’s performance more.

Best Director
Whomever wins this award usually collects Best Picture. Hmm…

…and the Oscar goes to: Tom Hooper, The King’s Speech.
If I had a vote, I’d vote for… Joel and Ethan Coen, True Grit. Kind of a surprise, but they seemed to do the most with a script, if you ask me. David Fincher was a close second.

Best Picture
Ten nominees is too many. Let’s pare it back to five, eh?

…and the Oscar goes to: The King’s Speech.
If I had a vote, I’d vote for… The Social Network. I struggled for a long time with this one. I loved The King’s Speech and I loved The Social Network. But for my money, The Social Network was just a slight bit better. But if you ask me an hour from now, I might say The King’s Speech because it is nearly a perfect film.

A Few More Categories For Your Consideration

Best Use Of Music In A Scene: Beethoven’s 7th Symphony, 2nd movement, The King’s Speech.
One of the most powerful scenes in a movie I’ve ever seen.

Best Un-nominated Actor: Jack McGee, The Fighter.
I love a great character actor. McGee brings so much into every scene he’s in, it’s a shame he wasn’t recognized.

Best Un-nominated Actress: Julianne Moore, The Kids Are All Right.
She’s not getting nearly enough accolade for her part in the movie.

Best Use of Soundtrack In A Movie: The Fighter.
The best example of this? Aerosmith’s Back In The Saddle. What a bitchin’ scene!

Worst Use of Soundtrack In A Movie: The Kid’s Are All Right.
Beyond Panic in Detroit, the music selections rarely matched up or augmented the mood or scenes in any way. It felt like they left this detail to an intern.

Creepiest Moment: Black Swan…take your pick!
I can’t tell you how many times this movie creeped me out!

Best Dialogue Scene: Jesse Eisenberg & Rooney Mara, The Social Network.
All they’re doing is sitting at a pub, talking while drinking beers…talking about NOTHING! Yet you can’t stop watching. Brilliant, brilliant scene showcasing Sorkin’s talents..

Best Monologue Scene: Barry Pepper, True Grit.
This scene, this angle, this speech. You get the urgency, desperation and anger of Ned Pepper in all his dirty, grimy, spittin’ glory!

Most Fun Movie: True Grit.
No doubt about it, this was the most fun I had watching any of the Oscar movies. (note: I haven’t seen Toy Story 3 yet).

Least Fun Movie: Winter’s Bone.
A very sober and depressing movie. But a great movie at that.
And there you have it…for your consideration. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under opinion, Personal, pop culture

Leave a Reply

