the getaway car.

Judging by this photo, you’d think I was packing for a weekend getaway, right? Wrong. I’m not going anywhere that requires an overnight bag. But I’ve always said it’s important to be prepared for the unexpected. You know, like your car breaking down in the middle of the night when you’re miles from home and need to stay in a motel for the night. Fortunately, I was able to make do. But it’s funny how lack of a toothbrush and deodorant make you feel dirty, sweaty and smelly, no matter how hot a shower you took that morning.

Well, this bag you see here is my insurance policy against that ever happening again. This is my 911 bag. It will have enough clothes, toothpaste, shampoo and soap to survive a couple days on the road. It will always be in my car. Why? Because, as I learned last month, you never know when you’re going to get stranded and have no ability to get to a store to purchase what you need. This is my insurance policy that, should the Bat-Signal illuminate the sky, I’m ready to spring into action.

Like a good boy scout, I’m always prepared. Full disclosure: I never made it past cub scout.

Unlikely emergencies aside, the 911 bag also gives me something else that I like: the ability to hit the road right freakin’ now without interference. I may never enact the plan, but it frees the mind a little bit to know I can walk out of work on Friday night and drive 6–8 hours in any direction without so much as a hint of stopping at home first.

That may sound silly to you—and it is, no question—but for me, it gives me one less excuse to do something impulsive, like drive to Nashville. Or Chicago. Or Atlanta. Or DC. Or Detroit. I can just get in my car and go.

It’s sneaky fun knowing that, no matter what I encounter from this moment forward, I’m always driving the getaway car.

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

