back in the saddle.

Summer’s over. It’s officially over. I know this because I’ve worked two soccer matches for the IUPUI Jaguars already and it’s not even September. For the record, they lost the exhibition friendly 1-0 and won their home opener, 2-1 over Liberty.

The first time back in the saddle behind the mic always feels like early rehearsals. I’m never quite in my comfort zone and have to get familiar with the rhythm again. By the second match yesterday, I was back in mid-season stride.

Until Tuesday, of course, when I jump back behind the mic for IUPUI volleyball. This will be only my second season working volleyball, so my comfort level is much lower than with soccer or basketball. But I’ve long since let go of any nerves about it. I just grip it and rip it, so to speak. I have never attended a volleyball match outside of IUPUI, so I’m clueless as to how other announcers do it. One of these days I’ll have to take a roadie just to get a sense of what I should be doing.

In the meantime, it’s good to be back. I’m only working a handful of soccer matches and most of the volleyball season. Mostly I just want to get my voice back in shape. I’m no spring chicken anymore. I have to work a little harder than I used to to get that boom in my voice. We’ll see how it goes on Tuesday.

Leave a comment

Filed under IUPUI Jaguars, PA Announcing

Leave a Reply

