running the christmas gauntlet.

The bad news: I will not be able to take time off from work for the week between Christmas and New Year’s, as I’d hoped. Because the bulk of my family lives about six hours away from me (by car), I wanted to take that week off so I wouldn’t have to race all over the Midwest for the holidays. So much for that plan. Those few days are going to resemble The Amazing Race for me. I’ll have to bolt out of Indy on Friday, 23 Dec. after my 1 p.m. IUPUI Jaguars basketball game, en route to South Bend. Off to Michigan on Christmas Eve. Back to South Bend on the 26th. THen home to Indy on the 27th.

Ugh. This is not my idea of fun. I’m going to have to re-think all this. It’s getting to be more chore than anything to make this work.

The good news: That means I can apply that week of PTO I was going to use for something else. It’s been a long time since I took a week off just to take a week off (seven years, at least), so perhaps I’ll do that.

Or I’ll hop on a big ol’ jet plane and go somewhere for a couple days.

Either way, I better start thinking about Christmas shopping and get it done. Not that my shopping takes long, but I’d rather have it all knocked out before Thanksgiving this year. I’m not going to stress out over Christmas, but after 10+ years of running this gauntlet, it’s starting to wear me down.

(This is the sort of crap rattling around in my head when I can’t sleep.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

