deconstructing the 2012 oscars.

Despite my 10-for-24 picks, tonight’s Oscars were fairly predictable. The Artist cleaned up. I suppose Meryl Streep was a surprise win simply because she’s always nominated yet rarely wins. Octavia Spencer was the odds-on favorite, as was Christopher Plummer (although I wanted Max Von Sydow to win). I was most disappointed Gary Oldman didn’t win. He’s one of the best actors of our time and was outstanding in Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.

Compared to last year’s Best Picture nominees, I thought this year’s field was not as strong. They could’ve easily pared it down to five films: The Artist, Hugo, The Help, Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close and Midnight in Paris. After that, who cares?

This year’s show was better, but that wasn’t much of a reach. No disrespect to Anne Hathaway and James Franco intended, but they’re actors. They’re not comics. Awards shows need someone with a comic’s timing, ability to wing it and ability to read an audience to keep the show moving; to keep the show entertaining. To that end, it was great to see Billy Crystal on the stage again. He’s sort of like a refreshing sorbet. I’m of a mind that they could slate him to host every couple years the same way the NFL always goes back to New Orleans for the Super Bowl. Even when his material is so-so, he’s always leaves you with a good feeling.

As for the nominees in 2013, let’s hope the Best Picture nominees get better. It’s not the Academy’s fault, I suppose. But at the same time, it’s time for some love for comedies. Bridesmaids was a critical and commercial hit. And you can’t tell me scatological subject matter disqualifies it (read: The Help).

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to get to work on my script. It’s time to show Hollywood what I’m made of. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under movies

Leave a Reply

