one of these days.

One of these days, I’ll actually write up movie reviews of all the other Oscar movies I saw but never bothered to review:

  • The Artist
  • The Descendants
  • Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close
  • The Help
  • Midnight in Paris
  • Tree of Life

With the exception of Tree of Life, I enjoyed all of them for one reason or another. Although I think it’s trite to say I “enjoyed” Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close. I know some critics panned it, but I found it to be pretty emotional.

Why did I hate Tree of Life? Because it was Terrence Malick staying in his own head with a stream of consciousness that rarely made sense. It was pretentious. It was annoying. It was frustrating. It was like watching someone explain a dream they just had.

I’m smart enough to “get” deep thoughts. But it’s like Malick wanted us to edit his movie for him. You want me to do that, Terry, pay me. First order of business: lose the dinosaurs and the whispery stuff.

Yeah, I’m still not over it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

