dream journal: a thursday nap brings an emmy hit?

I fell asleep and dreamt I was part of a TV show as a supporting actor. It starred Mary McDonnell and Peter MacNicol and we worked for some law firm/PR firm that represented Broadway production companies. In the scene, we were prepping for a meeting and discussing a new production of Porgy & Bess that had Mary McDonnell very excited.

She and Peter MacNicol were running lines and singing songs from the musical. It was a great, fun scene that reminded me of something in the West Wing or LA Law. When the director yelled “cut,” I said to Peter MacNicol, “that, right there, was an Emmy-worthy performance.” “Really? You think so?” he replied.

A few things to note:
* I have NEVER seen or heard Porgy and Bess
* I do not work on a TV show
* I do not know Peter MacNicol or Mary McDonnell

When I woke up, I was confused as to what the hell was going on in my head. It turns out I napped with NPR’s Fresh Air playing. Terry Gross was interviewing Audra McDonald, who is currently starring in a Broadway production of Porgy and Bess.

How I turned that into me working as an actor on a TV show with Mary McDonnell and Peter Berg is a complete mystery. But I could use the work, right?

Leave a comment

Filed under dream journal

Leave a Reply

