march madness is here!

Things to do today:
* Watch college basketball
* Watch college basketball at the NCAA headquarters
* Watch college basketball at home
* Fall asleep watching college basketball (at home…not at the NCAA headquarters. That would be bad)

It’s no secret the first two rounds of the NCAA National Championship Tournament (well, second and third rounds, technically) are my favorites. Why? Because it’s NONSTOP BASKETBALL! And it’s within this first weekend of basketball that upsets are most likely to occur. I’ve got a few upsets picked along the way, but not as many as I need, I imagine. I think the biggest upset I’ve got on my bracket is Minnesota beating UCLA. But is it really an upset when one of UCLA’s best players is out with injury?

The Bracket
As I mentioned, the bracket is already complete. No, I do not wager any money or partake in any pools. It’s purely for fun. I’ve been filling out a bracket every year for the past 23 or 24 years. My best year was 2001. I picked three of the Final Four teams, the championship game and the National Champion. That’s all I remember. I don’t even remember who won…oh wait, it was Duke (yes, I cheated and looked it up).

Write Right
Before I go to the NCAA, I’ve got a couple other things to knock out at home. I’d like to wrap up a couple writing projects as well as retool my resume. The resume may have to wait another day.

Brrrrr!
The word on the street is we were up around 80-degree weather this time last year. We’ll be lucky if we break 32° today.

Warming Up the Pipe
I’ll be gearing up for the NCAA National Championship Tournament Midwest Regional Semifinals, which will be played at Lucas Oil Stadium here in Indianapolis. Oh yeah, did I mention I’ll be the PA announcer at those games? While I have no rooting interest in the teams in the Midwest Region, I’m really hoping to see the top seeds advance. It might be the most competitive of the four regions. Either way, it’s going to be fun next weekend.

That’s all for now. Enjoy your Thursday, kids!

Leave a comment

Filed under college basketball, NCAA, PA Announcing, sports

Leave a Reply

