day 449: a free agent no more.

IMG_0891Over the holiday weekend, I shared some important news with the extended family that I’d like to share with you. It’s been no secret to most of you that I have been unemployed since 23 August 2012. That was the day I announced I was a “free agent to the world.” It’s been difficult. It’s been frustrating. It’s been stressful. And it’s also over.

On Monday afternoon, 25 November 2013, Day 449 of Free Agency, I verbally accepted an offer from the Clark County (Nevada) Department of Family Services to be their Public Information Officer in the parking lot of a gas station in Lexington, Nebraska.

I got the job.

I am a free agent no more.

More than three years and eight months since leaving, I am moving back to Las Vegas.

Over the past 15 months, I’ve been able to make ends meet through freelance work, through occasional housesitting/dog sitting and through PA announcing—which was my steadiest income for the better part of this period. It’s been a struggle at times, but without my friends and family who helped me land these gigs and helped me out, I don’t know how I would’ve survived. I could never repay the generosity, other than to say I will pay it forward and always lend a helping hand.

In my new role with Clark County DFS, I will be handling media relations, print pieces, copywriting, event planning, visual presentation design/production, etc. In other words, the same thing I’ve been doing for years, only this time in the public sector.

Further details on the new job are still being negotiated. I will be in Las Vegas this week for routine background checks and fingerprinting, both of which are required of all Clark County employees. Once I pass the background check, a formal offer will be extended and I plan to officially accept.

I will let everyone know once I have an official start date.

Nevertheless, I got the job.

A free agent no more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

