predicting this year’s oscars.

0305_oscarThis year’s list of nominees is pretty heavy in all categories. Of the nine nominated films for Best Picture, I’d say there are three or four true standouts. As usual, I’ll run down the nominees I want to win as well as the ones I think will win. Here goes…

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
Who I Want to Win
June Squibb, Nebraska. She was a blast in this movie and made every scene better. It would be great to see this “newcomer” win.

Who I Think Will Win
Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years A Slave. I’ve got a hunch it could be a big year for this film (least shocking statement of the day).

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR
Who I Want to Win
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club. A very difficult choice, because all the nominees gave standout performances. But Leto’s was the best, in my view. Although Michael Fassbender comes in a close second.

Who I Think Will Win
Jared Leto.

BEST ACTRESS
Who I Want to Win
Judi Dench, Philomena. I only saw three of the five performances. Sandra Bullock is deserving, too, but Judi Dench was great.

Who I Think Will Win
Judi Dench.

BEST ACTOR
Who I Want to Win
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf Of Wall Street. No other actor dominated the screen in his respective film the way DiCaprio did. Fifth time’s a charm?

Who I Think Will Win
Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club. Hard to argue against it, really.

BEST DIRECTOR
Who I Want to Win
David O. Russell, American Hustle. He deserves it. This is is best film in an already great career. I also think his vision made his film better.

Who I Think Will Win
Steve McQueen, 12 Years A Slave. Again, hard to argue against it. This was a brutal, emotional film.

BEST PICTURE
What I Want to Win
12 Years A Slave. As much as I loved American Hustle—and I really loved American Hustle—no film left me so emotionally drained as 12 Years A Slave. (sorry, David O. Russell)

What I Think Will Win
12 Years A Slave.

Leave a comment

Filed under movies, opinion

Leave a Reply

