kevvy’s college football locks of the week™ for week 3.

sports bookCollege football is still, largely, in tuneup mode. There just aren’t that many compelling match ups yet. But that doesn’t mean we can’t find our three LOCKS OF THE WEEK™! Before we get into the picks, let’s review something…

What are the Locks of the Week™?
I ran this occasional feature last year during the football season. I did not keep any stats, so I honestly don’t know if I’m any good at picking winners. So, from this point on in the college football season, I’m going to select three games each week and predict not just the winners, but which team you should bet to win. I’m pulling my betting lines from VegasInsider.com, in case you wondered. All my predictions are made on their spreads, as posted on Thursday.

I’ll recap my wins and losses each week and keep a running tabulation to see if I’ve got a nose for this sports betting thing. Since this is my first week of predictions, my current record is a perfect 0-0. Now then, who are my three locks this week?

KEVVY’S COLLEGE FOOTBALL THE LOCKS OF THE WEEK™
No. 6 GEORGIA (2-0) -6 at No. 24 South Carolina (1-1)
12:30 p.m. PT, CBS

I’ve got a feeling Spurrier might have something up his sleeve for this game. Before losing to the Bulldogs last year, the Gamecocks had won three in a row in this SEC East rivalry. The ‘Cocks may have some game, but Georgia has too much offense.
MY PICK: GEORGIA

Tennessee (2-0) at No. 4 OKLAHOMA (2-0) -21
5 p.m. PT, ABC

No question the Vols will be a huge underdog in this game, which could work to their advantage. They’ve proven in their first two games they can score points (against tuneup schools); same goes for the Sooners. The real question: can Oklahoma’s defense stop a major conference opponent? Probably, but this game could be a lot closer than people expect. Nevertheless, I’m not afraid of OK giving 21.
MY PICK: OKLAHOMA

No. 12 UCLA (2-0) -8 vs. Texas (1-1)
5:15 p.m. PT, FOX

Too bad the Longhorns got their doors blown off by BYU last weekend. Otherwise, this might’ve been a compelling game. As it stands. it’s the last halfway decent game in a mostly boring weekend of college football. UCLA needs this game more than Texas, and should be favored to win by a pretty wide margin. But the Bruins defense likes to give up points. If Texas keeps it close, look out.
MY PICK: UCLA

Those are my locks. Now get out there, place a bet and make daddy some money!

Leave a comment

Filed under College Football, gambling, Las Vegas, sports, sports betting, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

